Button to scroll to the top of the page.

Hives header

UPCOMING EVENTS AT UT

2022 Events at UT

UT Landscape Services and BEEVO students are adding to UT campus pollinator habitat by installing a new pollinator garden in the Painter Hall courtyard. If you are interested in volunteering, contact beevobeekeepers@gmail.com.

2022 Events at the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center

Saturday, July 16 - "Pollinator Day." Details TBA.

Saturday, October 1 - "The Native Bees of Texas" course, taught by Laurel Treviño (Outreach Program Coordinator, Jha Lab). Details TBA.

 

PAST EVENTS AT UT

UT Spring Bee Competition: Launched in early spring, the contest rules are that anyone in the UT College of Natural Science community (staff, students, faculty) be the first to submit a 2022 photo of a Travis County mason bee. The 2022 competition winner was Paige Durant. Learn more here.

2017: “The Buzz About Bees: How They Improve Our Livesis an ESI Hot Science Cool Talk by Dr. Shalene Jha that explains pollination services in ecosystems and how human land management impacts species interactions. You can access the recording by clicking here.

 

National Calender of Events Observed by Bee Campus USA

calendar-mar-2022
 

Annual Events Related to Pollinators

Earth Day, April 22 https://earthday.org
Arbor Day, last Friday in April https://arborday.org/celebrate
National Wildflower Week, first week in May https://wildflower.org/wildflowerweek
Garden for Wildlife Month, May

https://nwf.org/Garden-for-Wildlife/About/National-Initiatives/Gardening-Month

World Bee Day - May 20 https://www.un.org/en/observances/bee-day/background
International Biodiversity Day, May 22 https://www.cbd.int/idb
Butterfly Education Awareness Day, first Saturday in June https://afbeducation.org/butterfly-conservation/butterfly-education-and-awareness-day/
National Garden Week, first full week of June https://gardenclub.org/projects/national-garden-week.aspx
National Pollinator Week, third week of June https://pollinator.org/pollinator-week
National Moth Week, last full week of July https://nationalmothweek.org
National Honey Bee Day, third Saturday in August https://nationalhoneybeeday.com
National Honey Month - September https://www.honey.com/blog/celebrate-national-honey-month-with-these-10-tips
National Bat Week, last week of October https://batweek.org